Oregon Historical County Records Guide

Baker County Records Inventory

Foreclosure Records


Series documents the activities of the sheriff and other county officials relating to the foreclosure of property in order to satisfy creditors in cases involving delinquent taxes, mortgage payments, or court judgments. Records include correspondence, sheriff's deeds and foreclosure sale records, circuit court case transcripts of foreclosure hearings, writs of execution, certificates of sale of real property, judgment orders, receipts, tax redemption records, delinquent tax sales, and tax sale certificates. Foreclosure records have been inventoried through 1920.

Records at the Baker County Courthouse, Clerk's Lower Vault, Back Room:
Clerk's Delinquent Tax Record [actually tax sale record], vol. 1, 1892-1896 (1 volume);
Clerk's Delinquent Tax Sale Record, 1892-1903 (1 volume);
Invoices [Sheriff's Certificates of Sale], vol. 2, 1912-1920 (1 volume);
Record of Sales [Sheriff's-with index], vol. 1, 1886-1891 (1 volume);
Sheriff's Certificate of Sale on Execution [Foreclosure], vol. 2, 1903-1916 (1 volume);
Sheriff's Delinquent Tax Sales Record, vol. 2, 1895-1904 (1 volume).

Records at the Baker County Courthouse, Clerk's Upper Vault:
Deed Record Sheriff's Deeds, vol. 32, 1897-1907 (1 volume).

State Archives • 800 Summer St. NE • Salem, OR 97310

Phone: 503-373-0701 • Fax: 503-373-0953 • reference.archives@state.or.us