Oregon Historical County Records Guide
Clackamas County Records Inventory
Series documents the recording of deaths in the county. Records include registers and certificates. Information includes registration number; place and date of death; name, sex, color, birth date and place, age, and marital status of the deceased; names and birthplaces of parents; primary and contributory cause of death; physician, registrar, and informant signatures; filing date; and date and place of burial. Death records were not required by the state of Oregon until 1903 when the state began to officially register deaths. County death records have been inventoried through 1920. Access to death records is restricted for 50 years following the date of death by Oregon Administrative Rule 333-011-0096. Contact the Oregon State Archives for access to state death certificates that are more than 50 years old. Contact the Oregon Center for Health Statistics for access to more recent death certificates.
Records at the Oregon State Archives:
Record of Births and Deaths [Milwaukie], 1915-1927 (1 volume);
Record of Births and Deaths [Oregon City], 1915-1924 (3 volumes);
Record of Births and Deaths [Wilsonville], 1915-1945 (1 volume);
Search for 1915-1948 Clackamas County death records in Oregon Historical Records Index.
Records at the Clackamas County Courthouse, Circuit Court Records Center Room 12:
[Birth Certificates-filmed with Death Certificates], 1902-1920 (1 reel of microfilm).
Records at the Museum of the Oregon Territory, Library:
Cl. Co. Death Records [Clackamas County Index Abstracts-Mt. Hood Genealogical Forum], vol. 1, 1907-1912 (1 volume);
Index Clackamas County Death Records [and Abstracts], 1900-1915 (1 volume).