Oregon Historical County Records Guide
Coos County Records Inventory
Series documents the recording of deaths in the county. Records include registers and certificates. Information includes registration number; place and date of death; name, sex, color, birth date and place, age, and marital status of the deceased; names and birthplaces of parents; primary and contributory cause of death; physician, registrar, and informant signatures; filing date; and date and place of burial. Death records were not required by the state of Oregon until 1903 when the state began to officially register deaths. County death records have been inventoried through 1920. Access to death records is restricted for 50 years following the date of death by Oregon Administrative Rule 333-011-0096. Contact the Oregon State Archives for access to state death certificates that are more than 50 years old. Contact the Oregon Center for Health Statistics for access to more recent death certificates.
Records at the Coos County Courthouse, Clerk's Office:
[Birth and Death Records-Record of Births and Deaths-partial reel], 1916-1929 (1 reel of microfilm);
[Birth and Death Records-Record of Deaths-partial reel], 1906-1922 (1 reel of microfilm);
[Index to Clerk's Record of Deaths-partial reel], 1906-1922 (1 reel of microfilm).
Records at the Coos County North Bend Annex, Public Health Office, Vital Records Room:
Record of Births and Deaths, 1916-1929 (1 volume);
Record of Deaths, 1906-1922 (1 volume).