Oregon Historical County Records Guide
Crook County Records Inventory
Series documents the recording of deaths in the county. Records include registers and certificates. Information includes registration number; place and date of death; name, sex, color, birth date and place, age, and marital status of the deceased; names and birthplaces of parents; primary and contributory cause of death; physician, registrar, and informant signatures; filing date; and date and place of burial. Death records were not required by the state of Oregon until 1903 when the state began to officially register deaths. County death records have been inventoried through 1920. Access to death records is restricted for 50 years following the date of death by Oregon Administrative Rule 333-011-0096. Contact the Oregon State Archives for access to state death certificates that are more than 50 years old. Contact the Oregon Center for Health Statistics for access to more recent death certificates.
Records at the Crook County Courthouse, Clerk's Middle Vault:
Death [Index of Records of Deaths], 1916-1939 (1 volume);
Death [Record of Deaths], 1918-1921 (1 volume);
Death [Record of Deaths-District No. 177], 1916-1927 (1 volume);
Record of Deaths, 1907-1916 (1 volume).
Records at the Crook County Road Department Yard, Records Storage Unit A1:
[Record of Deaths], 1907-1916 (1 reel of microfilm).
Records at the A.R. Bowman Museum, Library:
Record of Death [Crook County-photocopies], 1907-1916 (1 binder).
Records at a Related Web Site:
Crook County Death Certificates [Images], 1903-1917 (US GenWeb Project).