Oregon Historical County Records Guide

Wallowa County Records Inventory

Foreclosure Records


Series documents the activities of the sheriff and other county officials relating to the foreclosure of property in order to satisfy creditors in cases involving delinquent taxes, mortgage payments, or court judgments. Records include correspondence, sheriff's deeds and foreclosure sale records, circuit court case transcripts of foreclosure hearings, writs of execution, certificates of sale of real property, judgment orders, receipts, tax redemption records, delinquent tax sales, and tax sale certificates. Foreclosure records have been inventoried through 1920.

Records at the Wallowa County Courthouse, Clerk's Vault:
Tax Delinquency Certificates and Sheriffs Return, 1905-1911 (.05 cu.ft.).

Records at the Wallowa County Courthouse, Clerk's Office:
Certificate of Sale Book, vol. 2, 1905-ca.1910 (1 volume).

Records at the Wallowa County Courthouse, Governing Body (Commissioners') Office Vault:
Record Delinquent Tax Sales, vol. 1, 1892-1905 (1 volume).

Records at the Wallowa County Courthouse, Attic, Main Records Storage Room:
[Certificate of Sale for Taxes], 1903-1907 (3 volumes);
Certificates of Sales [Tax], 1899-1915 (.05 cu.ft.);
Redemption Certificate [from delinquency sale], vol. 4, 1911-1915 (1 volume);
Sheriff's Certificate of Redemption from Delinquency Sale, 1917-1921 (2 volumes);
Sheriff's Sale Record [with index], vol. 1-2, 1894-1925 (2 volumes);
Tax Sale Redemption [Certificates], vol. 3, 1908-1910 (3 volumes);
Tax Sale Redemption for 1905 Roll [Certificates], vol. 2, 1903-1907 (1 volume);
Tax Sales Record, vol. 1, 1916-1927 (1 volume).


County guide home | Inventories home

State Archives • 800 Summer St. NE • Salem, OR 97310

Phone: 503-373-0701 • Fax: 503-378-4118 • reference.archives@state.or.us