Provisional and Territorial Records Guide

1859 Map

Note: The following map is intended to provide researchers with a general understanding of significant county boundary changes over time. Researchers should refer to other sources for more detailed and precise representations.

1859 Map

On the eve of statehood in February, 1859, Oregon Territory was divided into eighteen counties. The territory had an area of 96,981 square miles and a white population of roughly 53,000. Wasco County had an area nearly twice as large as the rest of the territory but its population numbered less than 1500 people.

Delta On to Champoeg area map

State Archives • 800 Summer St. NE • Salem, OR 97310

Phone: 503-373-0701 • Fax: 503-378-4118 • reference.archives@state.or.us