Department of Transportation Records Guide

Agency History - Current Organization

ODOT’s five geographic regions carry out the Department’s programs statewide. Each region oversees the department’s transportation operations. Regions work with local city and county governments to deliver transportation services. Each region is comprised of numerous districts.

Region 1 Metro Area (Portland)
Region 2 Northwest Oregon (Salem)
Region 3 Southwest Oregon (Roseburg)
Region 4 Central Oregon (Bend)
Region 5 Eastern Oregon (La Grande)

ODOT’s districts provide maintenance and repair services on a scheduled and as needed basis to the transportation infrastructure including but not limited to rest areas, roads, bridges, and guard rails/restraint technology.

The Central Services Division provides services which support agency staff and the department's overall mission in the fields of Financial Services, Human Resources, Information Services, Internal Audit Services, Office of Civil Rights, Support Services, Communications.

The Driver and Motor Vehicles Division is responsible for regulating vehicles and drivers in Oregon by issuing vehicle registrations, titles, and driver licenses to Oregon citizens. DMV has field offices located throughout the state. The Driver and Motor Vehicles Division is comprised of five service groups.

The Highway Division develops, operates, and maintains Oregon’s system of highways, which range from six–lane limited-access freeways with metered ramps in the Metro area to a gravel highway connecting Prineville and Brothers. The Division is responsible for providing and supporting a safe and efficient highway transportation system supporting economic opportunity and livability in Oregon.

The Motor Carrier Transportation Division regulates the commercial operations of truckers using Oregon’s roads and highways. Regulating these operations is a multi-faceted job. Motor Carrier promotes a safe, efficient and responsible commercial transportation industry by simplifying compliance, reducing regulatory requirements where appropriate and preserving the infrastructure while recognizing the vital economic interests of the commercial transportation industry.

The Oregon Transportation Investment Act (OTIA) provides funding to select highway construction projects including the improvement of pavement conditions, increasing lane capacity, and improvement of bridges. OTIA originated in 2001. In 2003 Governor Kulongoski signed OTIA III, which provided 2.5 billion dollars in funding through bond sales for transportation repair and improvements. OTIA is overseen by the Highway Division.

The Public Transit Division develops and encourages the use of transit, ridesharing, walking, bicycling, telecommuting and other alternatives to motorist driving alone. Oregon’s public transit systems provide
1187 million rides a year. Public Transit offers training and technical assistance to communities and transportation service providers and encourages connections between systems.

The Rail Division regulates various aspects of the rail industry for safety and service. Freight and passenger rail in Oregon consist of more than 2,500 miles of railroads with more than 2,600 railroad crossings. This Division actively promotes programs designed to prevent crashes and injuries at highway railroad grade crossings and on railroad property.

The Transportation Development Division guides and supports short- and long-range needs of Oregon’s transportation system. Planners work closely with local officials. Goals include developing an efficient transportation system, maintaining livability and stretching insufficient funds. In addition, staff provide policy and economic analysis, strategic planning, research and program development help. The Division manages and analyzes transportation data. Much of the data is used to assess the current conditions or to track statistics for transportation facilities, programs and systems. Analyzing the data helps program managers make best use of resource. Staff help find ways both to foster growth and improve the safety and efficiency of the state transportation system. Methods also are designed to keep communities livable and economically healthy.

The Transportation Safety Division works with numerous partners including other state agencies, local agencies, non-profit groups, Native American Nations, and the private sector. By working with these partners, transportation safety is promoted through education, enforcement and engineering. Major programs focus on passenger protection, impaired driving, speed, youthful drivers, pedestrians, bicyclists, motorcyclists, work zones, safety corridors and employers. Staff members implement these programs through more than 100 grants and contracts awarded annually.

Boards, Commissions, Panels
The Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee is an eight member, Governor appointed body advising the Oregon Department of Transportation on matters regarding the regulation of bicycle and pedestrian traffic and the establishment of bikeways and pathways.

The Columbia River Highway Advisory Committee provides advice to the Oregon Department of Transportation and the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department to develop programs for managing the scenic highway in the Columbia River Gorge.
The Committee is comprised of ten appointed individuals with the Governor making three of the appointments.

The Governors Advisory Committee on DUII, working in conjunction with the Traffic Safety Division, formulates administrative and legislative objectives for reducing the incidence of driving under the influence, monitors their implementation, and heightens public awareness of DUII issues and dangers through education.

The Governor’s Advisory Committee on Motorcycle Safety seven Governor appointed members provide advice to the Traffic Safety Division on issues and concerns pertaining to motorcycling in Oregon.

The Oregon Transportation Commission develops and maintains state transportation policy and planning for a multi-modal transportation system, which fosters economic growth, safety, and environmental protection thereby enhance livability for all Oregonians. The Governor appoints the Commissions’ five members.

The Transportation Safety Committee provides advice on long range highway safety planning and approves grant funding of transportation safety programs funded and managed by the Traffic Safety Division. The Committee is comprised of five, Governor appointed members.

Delta On to 1843-1914 narrative

State Archives • 800 Summer St. NE • Salem, OR 97310

Phone: 503-373-0701 • Fax: 503-378-4118 • reference.archives@state.or.us