Loading
 

 

Oregon Bulletin

February 1, 2014

Board of Optometry, Chapter 852

Rule Caption: Revises rules governing additional and multiple practice location licenses for optometrists.

Adm. Order No.: OPT 1-2014

Filed with Sec. of State: 1-3-2014

Certified to be Effective: 1-3-14

Notice Publication Date: 12-1-2013

Rules Amended: 852-010-0080, 852-050-0005, 852-050-0016

Subject: Overall: This rule change simplifies licensing requirements and eliminates fees for optometric physicians practicing at more than one location.

   Additional practice location licenses will no longer be required, and all actively licensed optometric physicians will receive a portable multiple practice location license at no charge.

   Division 10: 852-010-0080 — Eliminates fees for additional practice location license and portable multiple practice location license.

   Division 50:

   852-050-0005 — Removes requirement to purchase additional practice location license or portable multiple practice location license for those optometric physicians practicing elsewhere than primary practice location. Provides free portable multiple practice location license to all active licensees.

   852-050-0016 — Removes requirement that active licensees hold additional practice location license for work elsewhere than primary practice location.

Rules Coordinator: Nancy DeSouza—(503) 399-0662, ext. 23

852-010-0080

Schedule of Fees

The following fee schedule is established by the Oregon Board of Optometry to set forth in one place all of the fees charged by the Board:

(1) Active license (see also 852-050-0006):

(a) Annual renewal — $323, of which $298 is for the active optometry license and $25 is the Prescription Drug Monitoring Fund fee collected by the licensing body on behalf of the Oregon Health Authority.

(b) Additional copy of Portable Multiple Practice Location license – $25 each.

(c) Failure to meet renewal date: Late renewal fee — $50 first failure, $75 second failure, $100 subsequent failure(s) in any seven-year period.

(d) Lapse in CPR certification during licensing period — $50.

(e) Failure to notify the Board of practice locations or address of record — $50 first failure, $100 second failure, $200 subsequent failure(s) in any seven-year period.

(2) Inactive License (see also 852-050-0012):

(a) Annual renewal — $98.

(b) Late renewal fee — $15.

(c) Failure to notify the Board of address of record — $50 first failure, $100 second failure, $200 subsequent failure(s) in any seven-year period.

(3) Application for Licensure:

(a) Application for Examination and Licensure — $200.

(b) Application for Endorsement Examination and Licensure — $300.

(c) Application for TPA Certification — $75.

(d) Law and Administrative Rule Examination — $75.

(4) Other fees:

(a) Written official license verification — $20.

(b) List of licensees (electronic or printed) — $25 each Active/Inactive.

(c) Reactivation of license — $100.

(d) Reinstatement of license — $100.

(e) Law and Administrative Rules booklet — $25 (available online at no charge).

(f) Decorative Wall Certificate of Registration (optional, personalized and signed by Board) — $30.

(5) The Board will not refund any fee unless there has been an error by the Board in the charging of the fee. Information not known by the Board because the licensee, applicant, or other person or entity has not supplied the correct information is not considered an error.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683 & 182 & 431

Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.270, 182.466 & 431.972

Hist.: OPT 1-2001, f. 6-26-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01; OPT 1-2003, f. 6-12-03, cert. ef. 7-1-03; OPT 3-2005, f. 6-29-05, cert. ef. 7-1-05; OPT 3-2006, f. 3-20-06, cert. ef. 7-1-06; OPT 1-2007, f. 5-21-07, cert. ef. 7-1-07; OPT 2-2009, f. & cert. ef. 12-11-09; OPT 2-2011, f. 6-24-11, cert. ef. 7-1-11; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13; OPT 1-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-14

852-050-0005

License and Certificate of Registration

(1) Upon becoming authorized to practice Optometry in Oregon, the licensee will receive:

(a) One original license, printed with and valid only at the address of the reported primary practice location. This current original license must be displayed in plain sight at the primary practice location where it can be viewed by any patient; and

(b) One Portable Multiple Practice Location license, printed with the reported primary practice location address, which may be used to practice at an unlimited number of additional reported practice locations. A Board-issued Portable Multiple Practice Location license must be displayed in plain sight at each non-primary practice location in an area where it can be viewed by any patient. Optometric physicians who wish not to transport this portable license among locations may purchase additional copies of the Portable Multiple Practice Location license from the Board.

(2) The licensee’s status (active or inactive, T, AT or ATI certified) will be printed by the Board on each license.

(3) The licensee must notify the Board of each practice location before commencing work at that location.

(4) While practicing at any location, a current license must be displayed in plain sight at all times in an area where it can be viewed by any patient.

(5) Photocopies of licenses are void and may not be displayed.

(6) The original license and all Portable Multiple Practice Location licenses expire and must be renewed during the annual license renewal period.

(7) Any optometric physician actively licensed to practice in Oregon may purchase an optional decorative wall certificate of registration personalized and signed by the Board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683 & 182

Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.070, 683.100, 683.120, 683.270 & 182.466

Hist.: OE 11, f. 5-19-72, ef. 6-1-72; OE 14, f. 2-20-73, ef. 3-1-73; OE 2-1980, f. 12-23-80, ef. 12-29-80; OE 2-1984, f. & ef. 7-14-84; OP 1-1987, f. & ef. 4-30-87; OP 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-91; OP 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-92; OP 2-1994, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-94; OP 2-1997, f. & cert. ef. 10-1-97; OPT 3-1998, f. 6-10-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; OPT 1-2001, f. 6-18-01, cert. ef. 7-1-01; OPT 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 12-18-02; OPT 1-2003, f. 6-12-03, cert. ef. 7-1-03; OPT 1-2007, f. 5-21-07, cert. ef. 7-1-07; OPT 4-2011, f. 6-24-11, cert. ef. 7-1-11; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13; OPT 1-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-14

852-050-0016

Notice of Place of Practice

(1) Each active licensee must notify the Board in writing of each place of practice before engaging in practice at that location. If the licensee is practicing in a mobile facility or with a portable unit, the licensee must report the Base of Operations and specific locations of such practice to the Board in compliance with this rule.

(a) Within 14 days of termination of practice at any location, licensee must notify the Board in writing, including information on the custody of any patient records generated by the licensee at that location.

(b) Written notification from a licensee to the Board must be signed, and may be made by mail, fax or scanned e-mail attachment. Standard e-mail notification from the licensee’s professional or personal e-mail will be accepted with an electronic signature that is composed of the licensee’s full legal name and optometry license number, followed by the last four digits of the licensee’s Social Security number.

(2) Failure to notify the Board in writing of practice location(s) and any address change(s) in accordance with (1) above may subject the licensee to a fee of $50 for the first failure; $100 for the second failure; $200 for each subsequent failure in any seven-year period.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 683

Stats. Implemented: ORS 683.070, 683.100, 683.120 & 683.270

Hist.: OP 2-1992, f. & cert. ef. 10-21-92; OP 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 10-27-93; OP 1-1996, f. 6-27-96, cert. ef. 7-1-96; OPT 3-1998, f. 6-10-98, cert. ef. 7-1-98; OPT 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-13; OPT 1-2014, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-14

Notes
1.) This online version of the OREGON BULLETIN is provided for convenience of reference and enhanced access. The official, record copy of this publication is contained in the original Administrative Orders and Rulemaking Notices filed with the Secretary of State, Archives Division. Discrepancies, if any, are satisfied in favor of the original versions. Use the OAR Revision Cumulative Index found in the Oregon Bulletin to access a numerical list of rulemaking actions after November 15, 2013.

2.) Copyright Oregon Secretary of State: Terms and Conditions of Use

Oregon Secretary of State • 136 State Capitol • Salem, OR 97310-0722
Phone: (503) 986-1523 • Fax: (503) 986-1616 • oregon.sos@state.or.us

© 2013 State of Oregon All Rights Reserved​