Loading

Oregon Bulletin

March 1, 2011

 

Department of Transportation,
Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division
Chapter 735

Rule Caption: Group registration plates.

Adm. Order No.: DMV 1-2011

Filed with Sec. of State: 1-28-2011

Certified to be Effective: 1-28-11

Notice Publication Date: 12-1-2010

Rules Amended: 735-040-0098

Rules Repealed: 735-040-0098(T)

Subject: ORS 805.205(2)(a) requires DMV to collect a surcharge, as determined by DMV, for non-profit group plates. The surcharge amount may not be less than $2.50 per plate and not more than $16 for each non-profit group plate issued or renewed. When setting the surcharge, DMV is required to consult with the non-profit group for which plates are issued. In August of 2009, after consulting with existing non-profit groups, DMV adopted OAR 735-040-0098 to set the surcharge amount for non-profit group plates at $2.50 per plate. Under OAR 735-040-0097, a non-profit group may request that DMV collect a surcharge of more than $2.50 per plate.

      On May 18, 2010, DMV received a request for non-profit group plates that recognize fallen public safety officers pursuant to ORS 805.205(3)(b). The group requesting the plates requested that DMV set the surcharge at $8 per plate for each year of the registration period. DMV consulted with the group and determined to set the surcharge at $8 per plate for each year of the registration period.

      This permanent rule amendment replaces a temporary amendment DMV filed to coincide with issuance of the Fallen Public Safety Officer registration plates and to avoid a possible loss in revenue to the non-profit group requesting the plates.

Rules Coordinator: Lauri Kunze—(503) 986-3171

735-040-0098

Non-profit Group Plate Surcharge

In addition to any other fee authorized by law:

(1) DMV will collect a surcharge of $2.50 per plate for each year of the registration period upon issuance and renewal of a non-profit group plate.

(2) Notwithstanding section (1) of this rule, DMV will collect a surcharge of $8 per plate for each year of the registration period upon issuance and renewal of a non-profit group plate that recognizes fallen public safety officers.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, 805.205

Stats. Implemented: ORS 805.205

Hist.: DMV 15-2009(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-24-09 thru 2-17-10; DMV 1-2010, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-10; DMV 14-2010(Temp), f. 8-27-10, cert. ef. 9-1-10 thru 2-28-11; DMV 1-2011, f. & cert. ef. 1-28-11

Notes
1.) This online version of the OREGON BULLETIN is provided for convenience of reference and enhanced access. The official, record copy of this publication is contained in the original Administrative Orders and Rulemaking Notices filed with the Secretary of State, Archives Division. Discrepancies, if any, are satisfied in favor of the original versions. Use the OAR Revision Cumulative Index found in the Oregon Bulletin to access a numerical list of rulemaking actions after November 15, 2010.

2.) Copyright 2011 Oregon Secretary of State: Terms and Conditions of Use

Oregon Secretary of State • 136 State Capitol • Salem, OR 97310-0722
Phone: (503) 986-1523 • Fax: (503) 986-1616 • oregon.sos@state.or.us

© 2013 State of Oregon All Rights Reserved​