Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division, Chapter 333
Rule Caption: Application fees for medical marijuana registration
Adm. Order No.: PH 9-2013(Temp)
Filed with Sec. of State: 10-2-2013
Certified to be Effective: 10-2-13 thru 3-30-14
Notice Publication Date:
Rules Amended: 333-008-0020
Subject: The Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division is temporarily amending OAR 333-008-0020 relating to new registration for medical marijuana use.
In 2013 the Legislature approved medical marijuana fee reductions for individuals that are eligible for Oregon Health Plan (OHP) benefits or are receiving food stamps benefits through the Oregon SNAP program.
The Authority finds that failure to act promptly will result in serious prejudice to the public interest, the Authority, and OHP clients and food stamp recipients. These rules need to be adopted promptly so that individuals with limited incomes benefit from these fee reductions as soon as possible. The Authority is filing the fee reductions as temporary, emergency rules in order to expedite the fee reductions for OHP clients and SNAP recipients. A permanent rulemaking will follow to make these fee reductions permanent.
Rules Coordinator: Brittany Sande—(971) 673-1291
New Registration Application and Verification
(1) A person may apply for a registry identification card on forms prescribed by the Authority. In order for an application to be considered complete, an applicant must submit the following:
(a) An application form signed and dated by the applicant;
(b) Copies of legible and valid U.S. state or federal issued photographic identification that includes last name, first name, and date of birth from the applicant, the designated primary caregiver, and grower, as applicable. Acceptable forms of current U.S. state or federal issued photographic identification include but are not limited to:
(A) Driver’s license;
(B) State identification card;
(C) Passport; or
(D) Military identification card.
(c) Written documentation, which may consist of relevant portions of the applicant’s medical record, signed by the applicant’s attending physician within 90 days of the date of receipt by the Authority, which describes the applicant’s debilitating medical condition and states that the use of marijuana may mitigate the symptoms or effects of the applicant’s debilitating medical condition;
(d) If applicable, a completed and notarized “Declaration of Person Responsible for Minor” form for any person under 18 years of age, signed and dated by the person responsible for the minor;
(e) The name of a designated primary caregiver, if any, and one designated grower (either the patient or another person) and the location of the grow site; and
(f) An application fee and grow site registration fee, if applicable, in the form of cash, bank check, money order, or personal check.
(2) The Authority shall process an application prior to issuing registry identification cards to assure that the application is complete and information provided has been verified.
(a) The Authority shall only accept applications that are mailed or are hand-delivered.
(b) If an applicant does not provide all the information required and the application is considered incomplete, the Authority shall notify the applicant of the information that is missing, and shall allow the applicant 14 days to submit the missing information.
(c) If an applicant does not provide the information necessary to declare an application complete, or to complete the verification process within the timelines established in subsections (2)(b) and (3)(e) of this rule, the application shall be rejected as incomplete. An applicant whose application is rejected as incomplete may reapply at any time. If an applicant submits an application fee and the application is subsequently denied or rejected, the application fee may be applied toward a new application submitted within one year of the denial or rejection date.
(d) The Authority may reject an application if the application or supporting documents appear to be altered (e.g., writing is whited out). An application shall be denied in accordance with OAR 333-008-0030 if an application or supporting documents are determined to have been falsified.
(e) The Authority may verify information on each application and accompanying documentation, including:
(A) Contacting each applicant by telephone or by mail. If proof of identity is uncertain, the Authority may require a face-to-face meeting and may require the production of additional identification materials;
(B) Contacting a minor’s parent or legal guardian;
(C) Contacting the Oregon Medical Board to verify that an attending physician is licensed to practice in the state and is in good standing;
(D) Contacting the attending physician to request further documentation to support a finding that the physician is the applicant’s attending physician. The Authority shall notify the applicant of the intent to review the medical records and request the applicant’s authorization to conduct the review. Failure to authorize a review of medical records may result in the application being declared incomplete, or denial of an application. If the Authority is unable to verify that the applicant’s attending physician meets the definition under OAR 333-008-0010(3) the applicant will be allowed 30 days to submit written documentation or a new attending physician’s declaration from a physician meeting the requirements of these rules. Failure to submit the required attending physician documentation is grounds for denial under ORS 475.309 and OAR 333-008-0030;
(E) Contacting the Division of Medical Assistance Programs, Department of Human Services-Self Sufficiency, or the Social Security Administration (SSA) to verify eligibility for benefits; and
(F) Conducting a criminal records check under ORS 181.534 of any person whose name is submitted as a grower.
(3) Application fees.
(a) A non-refundable application fee of $200 is required at the time of application.
(b) If applicable as specified in OAR 333-008-0025, a non-refundable grow site registration fee of $50 is required at the time of application.
(c) An applicant who can prove he or she is an Oregon resident and can demonstrate current receipt of SSI benefits, current eligibility for OHP benefits or current receipt of food stamp benefits through the Oregon SNAP program, qualifies for a reduced non-refundable application fee.
(A) Proof of residency may be shown through provision of:
(i) A current Oregon driver’s license or Oregon issued identification card; and
(ii) A utility bill, mortgage statement, lease payment statement or lease agreement for the previous month with the applicant’s name and an Oregon physical address.
(B) An applicant demonstrating receipt of SSI benefits by providing a copy of a current monthly SSI benefit card showing dates of coverage is entitled to a reduced application fee of $20.
(C) An applicant demonstrating current eligibility for OHP benefits by providing a copy of the applicant’s current eligibility statement is entitled to a reduced application fee of $50.
(D) An applicant demonstrating receipt of current food stamp benefits, verified by enrollment in Oregon’s Food Stamp Management Information System database system and by providing current proof of his or her food stamp benefits, is entitled to a reduced application fee of $60.
(d) The Authority shall place a 10-day hold on the issuance of a registry identification card for an application accompanied by a personal check. Upon receipt by the Authority of a notice of non-sufficient funds (NSF) or stop payment, an applicant will be allowed 14 days to submit payment in the form of a bank check or cash. Application fees paid in the form of cash must be hand-delivered. Applicants are advised not to make payments in cash through the United States mail or private delivery services. The Authority will not accept responsibility for payments of cash that are lost in the mail or stolen in transit.
(e) The Authority shall notify an applicant who submits a reduced application fee for which the applicant is not eligible and will allow the applicant 14 days from the date of notice to pay the correct application fee and submit a current valid proof of eligibility.
(f) The application fees established in paragraphs (3)(c)(C) and (D) of this rule are effective for an application received on or after October 1, 2013.
(4) The application forms referenced in this rule may be obtained by contacting the: Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) at PO Box 14450, Portland, OR 97293-0450 or calling 971-673-1234.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 475.338
Stats. Implemented: ORS 475.300 - 475.346
Hist.: OHD 3-1999, f. & cert. ef. 4-29-99; OHD 13-2000(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 12-21-00 thru 6-15-01; OHD 18-2001, f. & cert. ef. 8-9-01; OHD 19-2001(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 8-10-01 thru 1-31-02; Administrative correction 3-14-02; OHD 6-2002, f. & cert. ef. 3-25-02; PH 9-2003, f. 6-26-03, cert. ef. 7-1-03; PH 38-2004, f. 12-22-04, cert. ef. 1-1-05; PH 17-2005, f. 11-25-05, cert. ef. 12-1-05; PH 18-2005, f. 12-30-05, cert. ef. 1-1-06; PH 15-2007, f. 12-19-07, cert. ef. 1-1-08; PH 14-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-6-10 thru 12-31-10; PH 27-2010, f. & cert. ef. 12-28-10; PH 8-2011, f. 9-30-11, cert. ef. 10-1-11; PH 9-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 10-2-13 thru 3-30-14
Oregon Secretary of State • 136 State Capitol • Salem, OR 97310-0722
Phone: (503) 986-1523 • Fax: (503) 986-1616 • firstname.lastname@example.org
© 2013 State of Oregon All Rights Reserved