Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Chapter 811
Rule Caption: Fees increased for license renewals; a grace period with related late fees was established
Adm. Order No.: BCE 3-2013
Filed with Sec. of State: 10-8-2013
Certified to be Effective: 11-1-13
Notice Publication Date: 9-1-2013
Rules Amended: 811-010-0086, 811-010-0110
Subject: SB 106 removed license fee maximums from statute. Doctor and Assistant fees are increasing slightly. SB 106 also creates a 30 day grace period for CA renewal similar to that which the DCs have
Rules Coordinator: Kelly J. Beringer—(503) 373-1573
The license period for chiropractic physicians in Oregon is a period equal to 12 months, expiring on the last day of the licensee’s birth date month.
(1) At least 30 days prior to the renewal due date the board shall mail to the last-known professional address of each licensed chiropractor a notice of the requirements of ORS 684.090 and 684.092.
(2) Active licensees must meet the requirements of ORS 684.092 during the 12 months prior to the expiration of the Certificate of Registration and pay to the board the annual $350 registration fee.
(3) Licensees may apply for a $262.50 senior active license within 45 days prior to the expiration of the Certificate of Registration if the licensee meets all of the following requirements:
(a) Is 60 years of age or older; and
(b) Has held an active chiropractic license for at least 25 years.
(4) Senior active licensees shall fulfill the requirements of ORS 684.090, 684.092 and 684.094 except that continuing chiropractic education shall not be less than 6 hours per year.
(5) Senior active licensees shall show proof at the time of license renewal that the criteria of subsection (3)(a) and (b) of this rule have been met.
(6) Active licensees may apply for a $175 inactive license within 45 days prior to the expiration of the Certificate of Registration if the licensee qualifies because of one of the following:
(a) Military service;
(b) Peace Corps or VISTA service;
(c) Retirement; or
(d) Licensee is not engaged in the practice of chiropractic in Oregon.
(7) Inactive licensees do not have to fulfill the requirements of ORS 684.092.
(8) Inactive licensees who want to reinstate their active license during the same fiscal year shall pay the full active annual registration fee and provide proof of compliance with ORS 684.092.
(9) Inactive licensees who apply for reinstatement after five or more years after the date of transfer to inactive license, or who cannot demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Board they have been in active practice during the preceding five years, may be required to establish their competency in the practice of chiropractic by
(a) Receiving a passing grade on all or part of an examination required by the Board; or
(b) Submitting a letter showing proof of active practice and any disciplinary actions from the state boards where licensure is maintained.
(10) A license that is not renewed on time may not be renewed except:
(a) Upon written application and payment to the board of the fee for the license category plus a delinquent fee of $100 for each week or portion thereof, not to exceed $500.
(b) Upon compliance with or exemption from the requirements of ORS 684.092.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 684
Stats. Implemented: ORS 684.090 & 684.092
Hist.: 2CE 9, f. 10-16-70; 2CE 13(Temp), f. & ef. 4-13-76 through 8-10-76; 2CE 1-1978, f. 6-16-78, ef. 7-1-78; 2CE 1-1986, f. 4-14-86, ef. 5-1-86; Suspended by CE 1-1989(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-28-89; CE 1-1993, f. 3-1-93, cert. ef. 4-1-93; CE 2-1995, f. & cert. ef. 10-30-95; BCE 3-2000, cert. ef. 8-23-00; BCE 2-2002, f. & cert. ef. 5-29-02; BCE 2-2004, f. & cert. ef. 6-7-04; BCE 1-2007, f. & cert. ef. 11-30-07; BCE 3-2013, f. 10-8-13, cert. ef. 11-1-13
(1) The license period for Chiropractic Assistants begins on August 1 and ends on July 31. A 30 day grace period will follow whereupon the Chiropractic Assistant may continue to practice. Any Chiropractic Assistant who has not renewed by September 1 must cease practice.
(2) Chiropractic Assistants may be certified upon compliance with the following standards and procedures:
(a) The Chiropractic Assistant applicant shall successfully complete a Board approved training course offered by an association, college or otherwise approved person. The initial training course shall be at least twelve hours in length, of which eight hours shall be didactic training and four hours shall be practical training.
(A) The practical training must be in physiotherapy, electrotherapy and hydrotherapy administered by a health care provider licensed to independently provide those therapies.
(B) A chiropractic physician may perform the initial practical training provided this is direct contact time.
(C) The initial training must have been completed within 60 days preceding the application submission date;
(b) The applicant shall complete an application form and an open book examination supplied by the Board;
(c) If an applicant has a certificate or license from another state and adequate documentation of training, the Board may waive the requirement for the initial training course; and
(d) A person initially certified between March 1st and May 31st is exempt from the continuing education requirement for renewal.
(3) The training course verification form, completed application form, completed examination, and fees in the following amounts shall be submitted to the Board:
(a) A non-refundable application fee — $25;
(b) A non-refundable examination fee — $35; and
(c) An initial certification fee — $50. A refund of the certification fee will only be allowed when requested within 60 days of the initial application.
(d) In circumstances beyond the applicant’s control (e.g. board review of criminal history) the Board may determine to refund the fees or portion thereof.
(e) In the event the Board requires the NBCE chiropractic assistant examination in lieu of the Board’s examination, the fee in subsection (b) will be waived.
(4) The Board shall maintain an incomplete application file for six months from the date the application was received; afterward, applicants will need to re-apply.
(5) The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.
(6) The Chiropractic Assistant shall not perform electrotherapy, hydrotherapy, or physiotherapy until he or she receives a certificate from the Board.
(7) A Chiropractic Assistant shall be directly supervised by the Chiropractor at all times. The supervising Chiropractor must be on the premises.
(8) The scope of practice does not include performing physical examinations, taking initial histories, taking X-rays, interpretation of postural screening, doing manual muscle testing or performing osseous adjustments or manipulations.
(9) Chiropractic Assistants shall report to the Board, in writing, his/her mailing address and place of employment. Notification of a change of mailing address or place of employment must be made within 10 days of the change.
(10) On or before each June 1, the Board of Examiners shall send the renewal notice to the Chiropractic Assistant at the last known mailing address.
(11) On or before each July 31 the Chiropractic Assistant shall mail to the Board of Examiners the renewal form with a renewal fee of $75. A certificate that is not renewed on time may not be renewed except:
(a) Upon written application and payment to the board of the renewal fee plus a delinquent fee of $25 for renewals submitted between August 1 and August 31 of each year; or
(b) Upon written application and payment to the board of the renewal fee plus a delinquent fee of $50 for renewals submitted on September 1 or later; and
(c) Upon submission of proof of compliance with or exemption from the requirements of ORS 684.092.
(12) A Chiropractic Assistant has up to one year following their July 31 renewal date to renew and reinstate their certificate upon meeting the provisions of (11)(a) through (c) above. After 12 months a person must restart the application process.
(13) Continuing education programs may be comprised of subjects that are pertinent to clinical practices of chiropractic. Continuing education must meet the criteria outlined in OAR 811-015-0025 sections (8), (9) and (10). No continuing education hours may be carried over into the next renewal year. Evidence of successful completion of six hours of continuing education during the 12 months preceding the renewal must be submitted upon request by the board.
(14) The Chiropractic Assistant’s certificate shall be displayed at all times in the Chiropractic Physician’s office during the Chiropractic Assistant’s employment.
(15) The Board may refuse to grant a certificate to any applicant, may suspend or revoke a certificate, or may impose upon an applicant for certification or Chiropractic Assistant a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 upon finding of any of the following:
(a) Cause, which is defined as, but not limited to, failure to follow directions, unprofessional or dishonorable conduct, injuring a patient, or unlawful disclosure of patient information. The supervising Chiropractic Physician is required to notify the Board, in writing, of any dismissal of a Chiropractic Assistant for cause within ten days. The Board shall determine if there is cause for action and shall be governed by the rules of the Board adopted pursuant to ORS Chapter 183;
(b) Conviction of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or a felony; or
(c) Failure to notify the Board of a change of location of employment as required by these rules.
(16) Unprofessional or dishonorable conduct is defined as: any unethical, deceptive, or deleterious conduct or practice harmful to the public; any departure from, or failure to conform to, the minimal standards of acceptable Chiropractic Assistant practice; or a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare or safety of patients, in any of which cases proof of actual injury need not be established. Unprofessional conduct shall include, but not be limited to, the following acts of a Chiropractic Assistant:
(a) Engaging in any conduct or verbal behavior with or towards a current patient that may reasonably be interpreted as sexual, seductive, sexually demeaning or romantic (also see ORS 684.100).
(b) A certificate holder shall not engage in sexual relations or have a romantic relationship with a current patient unless a consensual sexual relationship or a romantic relationship existed between them before the commencement of the Chiropractic Assistant-patient relationship.
(A) “Sexual relations” means:
(i) Sexual intercourse; or
(ii) Any touching of sexual or other intimate parts of a person or causing such person to touch the sexual or other intimate parts of the Chiropractic Assistant for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of either Chiropractic Assistant or patient.
(B) A patient’s consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a Chiropractic Assistant does not change the nature of the conduct nor lift the prohibition.
(C) In determining whether a patient is a current patient, the Board may consider the length of time of the Chiropractic Assistant-patient contact, evidence of termination of the Chiropractic Assistant-patient relationship, the nature of the Chiropractic Assistant-patient relationship, and any other relevant information.
(c) Use of protected or privileged information obtained from the patient to the detriment of the patient.
(d) Practicing outside the scope of the practice of a Chiropractic Assistant in Oregon;
(e) Charging a patient for services not rendered;
(f) Intentionally causing physical or emotional injury to a patient;
(g) Directly or indirectly engaging in threatening, dishonest, or misleading fee collection techniques;
(h) Soliciting or borrowing money from patients;
(i) Possessing, obtaining, attempting to obtain, furnishing, or prescribing controlled drugs to any person, including self, except as directed by a person authorized by law to prescribe drugs; illegally using or dispensing controlled drugs;
(j) Aiding, abetting, or assisting an individual to violate any law, rule or regulation intended to guide the conduct of Chiropractic Assistants or other health care providers; or
(k) Violating the rights of privacy or confidentiality of the patient unless required by law to disclose such information;
(l) Perpetrating fraud upon patients or third party payors, relating to the practice of chiropractic;
(m) Using any controlled or illegal substance or intoxicating liquor to the extent that such use impacts the ability to safely conduct the practice of a Chiropractic Assistant;
(n) Practicing as a Chiropractic Assistant without a current Oregon certificate;
(o) Allowing another person to use one’s Chiropractic Assistant certification for any purpose;
(p) Resorting to fraud, misrepresentation, or deceit in applying for or taking the certificate examination or obtaining a certificate or renewal thereof;
(q) Impersonating any applicant or acting as a proxy for the applicant in any Chiropractic Assistant certificate examination;
(r) Disclosing the contents of the certificate examination or soliciting, accepting, or compiling information regarding the contents of the examination before, during, or after its administration;
(s) Failing to provide the Board with any documents requested by the Board;
(t) Failing to fully cooperate with the Board during the course of an investigation, including but not limited to, waiver of confidentiality privileges, except attorney-client privilege;
(u) Claiming any academic degree not actually conferred or awarded;
(v) Disobeying a final order of the Board; and
(w) Splitting fees or giving or receiving a commission in the referral of patients for services.
(x) Receiving a suspension or revocation of a certificate or license for a Chiropractic Assistant, or other license or certificate, by another state based upon acts by the Chiropractic Assistant or applicant that describes acts similar to this section. A certified copy of the record of suspension or revocation of the state making that is conclusive evidence thereof.
(17) The service of the Chiropractic Assistant is the direct responsibility of the licensed Chiropractic Physician. Violations may be grounds for disciplinary action against the Chiropractic Physician under ORS 684.100(9).
Stat. Auth.: ORS 684.155
Stats. Implemented: ORS 684.054 & 684.155(c)(A)
Hist.: CE 1-1990, f. & cert. ef. 2-15-90; CE 5-1992(Temp), f. 10-21-92, cert. ef. 10-23-92; CE 2-1993, f. 3-1-93, cert. ef. 4-23-93; CE 4-1997, f. & cert. ef. 11-3-97; BCE 3-2000, cert. ef. 8-23-00; BCE 1-2001, f. 1-31-01, cert. ef. 2-1-01; BCE 1-2002, f. & cert. ef. 2-6-02; BCE 2-2008, f. & cert. ef. 10-9-08; BCE 2-2010, f. & cert. ef. 6-15-10; BCE 1-2012, f. & cert. ef. 5-31-12; BCE 3-2013, f. 10-8-13, cert. ef. 11-1-13
Oregon Secretary of State • 136 State Capitol • Salem, OR 97310-0722
Phone: (503) 986-1523 • Fax: (503) 986-1616 • firstname.lastname@example.org
© 2013 State of Oregon All Rights Reserved