Department of Transportation,
Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division Chapter 735
Caption: Updates Vehicle Dealer Rules to
add reference to New Class IV All-Terrain Vehicle Type.
Order No.: DMV 10-2011
Filed with Sec. of
Certified to be
Rules Amended: 735-150-0040
Subject: This rule amendment implements HB 2329 (Chapter 360,
Oregon Laws 2011) which changed the statutory definitions of all-terrain
vehicles and added a new Class IV all-terrain vehicle type.
DMV has amended
OAR 735-150-0040 to include Class IV all-terrain vehicles to the list of
vehicle types a qualified Oregon vehicle dealer may sell as a designated agent
of DMV, pursuant to ORS 802.031.
subsection (4)(f) of the rule was amended to clarify that vehicle dealers may
only prepare, submit, or prepare and submit documents and collect fees for
transfers of registration plates for vehicles they sell. The change is
consistent with current policy and dealer practices.
Rules Coordinator: Lauri Kunze—(503) 986-3171
Designation of Dealers as Agents
(1) Persons issued a dealer certificate under ORS
822.020 and who meet the qualifications set forth in OAR 735-150-0039, are
designated as DMV’s agent pursuant to ORS 802.031 and may perform the duties of
an agent as identified in section (4) of this rule.
(2) Snowmobile dealers and Class I, Class III and Class
IV all-terrain vehicle dealers are designated as agents of DMV pursuant to ORS
(3) DMV may impose sanctions against a dealer’s agent
status as provided in OAR 735-150-0120.
(4) An agent of DMV may:
(a) Prepare, submit, or prepare and submit documents
and collect fees necessary to title and register vehicles they sell, as
provided in OAR 735-150-0050;
(b) Perform vehicle identification number inspections
on vehicles they sell, as provided in OAR 735-022-0070, when the vehicle has
been registered or titled in another jurisdiction subject to the limitations of
(c) Issue temporary registration permits for
unregistered vehicles they sell, as provided in ORS 803.625 and OAR 735-150-0060;
(d) Issue trip permits for unregistered vehicles they
sell, as provided for in OAR 735-150-0070 and 735-150-0080;
(e) Issue 10-day trip permits for registered vehicles
they sell, as provided in ORS 803.600, OAR 735-150-0070, 735-150-0080 and 735-034-0010.
When issuing a 10-day trip permit as described in this subsection, a vehicle
(A) Must ensure any Oregon registration stickers have
been removed from the registration plates in accordance with ORS 803.600;
(B) May not issue more than two permits for the same
motor vehicle; and
(C) Must require the person applying for the permit to
provide the insurance company name and policy number on the permit, and sign
the certificate on the permit stating that the motor vehicle is covered by an insurance
policy that meets the requirements of ORS 806.080 and will continue to be
covered as long as the permit is valid; and
(f) Except as provided under section (9) of this rule,
prepare, submit, or prepare and submit documents and collect fees for transfers
of registration plates, for vehicles they sell, in accordance with OAR
(5) A dealer who, on behalf of a purchaser, prepared,
submitted, or prepared and submitted documents and collected fees necessary to
title and register a vehicle and who then receives from DMV the registration
plates, stickers or temporary registration for the vehicle, must ensure
delivery of the items obtained to the purchaser. Within five working days of
receipt from DMV, the dealer must:
(a) Deliver the items to the purchaser;
(b) Mail the items to the purchaser; or
(c) Advise the purchaser the items are at the
dealership and, if the purchaser agrees, arrange to have the items picked up at
(6) The dealer must document in the dealer’s records
the actions taken by the dealer to notify the purchaser or to deliver the
registration plates, stickers and temporary registration.
(7) No dealer may, as a result of a dispute between the
purchaser and dealer or for any other reason, withhold registration plates or
stickers or temporary registration from the purchaser.
(8) Designated agents must only charge title,
registration or plate transfer fees in the amount authorized by Oregon Revised
Statutes and Oregon Administrative Rule when collecting such fees on behalf of
(9) A dealer may not prepare, submit, or prepare and
submit an application and collect fees for the transfer of plates under
subsection (4)(f) of this rule if the dealer determines that the plates that
the purchaser wants to transfer are not from a current issue of plates, are not
customized plates described under ORS 805.240 or are so old, damaged, mutilated
or otherwise rendered illegible as to be not useful for purposes of
Hist.: MV 2-1983, f. 3-10-83, ef.
5-1-83; MV 4-1983, f. 10-5-83, ef. 10-15-83; MV 1-1984, f. & ef. 1-10-84;
MV 2-1985, f. & ef. 1-30-85; MV 20-1986, f. & ef. 12-1-86;
Administrative Renumbering 3-1988, Renumbered from 735-071-0007; MV 39-1989, f.
& cert. ef. 10-3-89; MV 8-1991, f. & cert. ef. 7-19-91; MV 19-1992, f.
12-23-92, cert. ef. 1-1-93; DMV 5-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-30-98 thru
10-26-98; DMV 13-1998, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-98; DMV 7-2000, f. & cert.
ef. 8-10-00; DMV 28-2003(Temp), f. 12-15-03 cert. ef. 1-1-04 thru 6-28-04; DMV
9-2004, f. & cert. ef. 5-24-04; DMV 20-2004, f. & cert. ef. 8-20-04;
DMV 11-2005, f. 4-25-05, cert. ef. 5-1-05; DMV 24-2005, f. 11-18-05, cert. ef.
1-1-06; DMV 10-2011, f. 10-26-11, cert. ef. 1-1-12
Notes 1.) This online version of the OREGON BULLETIN is provided for convenience of reference and enhanced access. The official, record copy of this publication is contained in the original Administrative Orders and Rulemaking Notices filed with the Secretary of State, Archives Division. Discrepancies, if any, are satisfied in favor of the original versions. Use the OAR Revision Cumulative Index found in the Oregon Bulletin to access a numerical list of rulemaking actions after November 15, 2010.