Loading
 

 

Oregon Bulletin

December 1, 2013

Department of Oregon State Police, State Athletic Commission, Chapter 230

Rule Caption: Amends OAR 230-020-0002 to authorize the OSP Superintendent to issue licenses on an annual basis.

Adm. Order No.: SAC 6-2013

Filed with Sec. of State: 11-5-2013

Certified to be Effective: 11-5-13

Notice Publication Date: 10-1-2013

Rules Amended: 230-020-0002

Subject: Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 230-020-0002 currently establishes that the licensing year for all licenses issued by the Superintendent shall run from July 1 to June 30 of the following year. The rule amendment eliminates the requirement that the licensing year run from July 1 to June 30, and instead authorizes the Superintendent to issue annual licenses at any point during the calendar year.

Rules Coordinator: Lili M. Wright—(503) 378-2493

230-020-0002

Licensing Year

All licenses issued by the Superintendent shall be issued on an annual basis, and expire one year from the date of issuance.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 463.113

Stats. Implemented: ORS 463.025

Hist.: BWC 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 9-20-91; BWC 1-1995, f. 10-10-95, cert. ef. 10-13-95; SAC 2-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-15-13 thru 10-12-13; SAC 5-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-10-13 thru 10-12-13; Administrative correction, 11-1-13; SAC 6-2013, f. & cert. ef. 11-5-13


Rule Caption: Requiring boxing or mixed martial arts female competitors to submit and pass a pregnancy test.

Adm. Order No.: SAC 7-2013

Filed with Sec. of State: 11-5-2013

Certified to be Effective: 11-5-13

Notice Publication Date: 10-1-2013

Rules Amended: 230-020-0330

Rules Repealed: 230-020-0330(T)

Subject: Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 463.113(1) authorizes the Oregon Athletic Commission (Commission) to adopt administrative rules for “* * * conducting professional boxing and mixed martial arts events that promote the safety and best interest of the contestants and of the public.”

   The Oregon State Athletic Commission has adopted temporary rule to amend OAR 230-020-0330 related to boxing and mixed martial arts competitions in Oregon. The rule amendment implements in Oregon a common industry practice designed to promote the health and safety of competitors, by adding into OAR 230-020-0330 a requirement that female boxing and mixed martial arts competitors submit and pass a pregnancy test in order to participate in the upcoming boxing or mixed martial arts event. The rule includes an option for waiver of the test requirement upon submission of documentation that the contestant has undergone a full hysterectomy. The rule also specifies the timing of the test and acceptable test methods.

Rules Coordinator: Lili M. Wright—(503) 378-2493

230-020-0330

Medical Disqualification

(1) The Superintendent must refuse to certify a boxer or mixed martial arts contestant if the examining physician or the Superintendent determines that withholding certification is necessary to preserve the health or safety of the boxer or mixed martial arts combatant.

(2) A boxer or mixed martial arts contestant is medically disqualified from competition if he or she:

(a) Has sustained a significant cut that is not completely healed;

(b) Has sustained three consecutive knockouts or TKOs, any knockout within the past 60 days, or any TKO within the past 30 days;

(c) Has sustained two knockouts within 90 days or a knockout in the first fight after a disqualification;

(d) Is not sufficiently conditioned to participate safely.

(3) A boxer or mixed martial arts contestant who has sustained three knockouts may be referred for neurological consultation.

(4) Pre-fight pregnancy test. Prior to participating in any boxing or mixed martial arts event, each female competitor must submit and pass a pregnancy test.

(a) For purposes of this rule, “pass” means the competitor tests negative for pregnancy.

(b) The pregnancy test must be administered during the pre-fight physical examination under the supervision of the examining physician or a female assistant authorized by the Commission, using a pregnancy test kit supplied by the Commission.

(A) Pregnancy test kits not supplied by the Commission shall not be accepted.

(B) The female competitor shall be accompanied to the bathroom facility by the examining physician or authorized female assistant, shall be allowed to take the pregnancy test in privacy, and shall promptly provide the test to the examining physician for interpretation of the results. The female competitor may not carry personal belongings into the bathroom while taking the test.

(c) In place of the pregnancy test described in subsection (b) of this rule, a female competitor may submit a results report from a serum or urine pregnancy test administered within 14 days of the scheduled event by a clinical laboratory or licensed physician. The competitor must submit the results report to the Commission no less than 72 hours before the event.

(d) The Superintendent or the examining physician may waive the pre-fight pregnancy test upon submission of written documentation from a licensed physician or clinic showing that the female competitor has undergone a total hysterectomy.

(A) Waiver of the pre-fight pregnancy test requirement may not be provided for any other reason.

(B) A competitor submitting such hysterectomy documentation to the Commission for the first time must do so no less than 72 hours prior to an event in which the competitor wishes to participate. Once adequate documentation of hysterectomy has been submitted by the competitor, the Commission may keep the documentation on file and the competitor shall not be required to re-submit the documentation for subsequent events unless re-submission is requested by the Commission.

(e) A competitor who tests positive for pregnancy may not participate in the boxing or mixed martial arts event for which the pregnancy test was submitted. A female competitor who fails to submit pregnancy test results or waiver documentation consistent with all requirements of this rule may not participate in the boxing or mixed martial arts event for which the pregnancy test was required. Nothing in this rule shall bar a competitor from seeking to establish eligibility to participate in subsequent events.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 463.113

Stats. Implemented: ORS 463.025 & 463.047

Hist.: BWC 1-1988, f. 3-22-88, cert. ef. 3-29-88; BWC 1-1991, f. & cert. ef. 9-20-91, Section (2) renumbered from 230-060-0150(2); BWC 1-1995, f. 10-10-95, cert. ef. 10-13-95; SAC 5-2008, f. 6-12-08, cert. ef. 7-1-08; SAC 1-2013, f. & cert. ef. 2-21-13; SAC 3-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-10-13 thru 1-6-14; SAC 4-2013(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 7-10-13 thru 1-6-14; SAC 7-2013, f. & cert. ef. 11-5-13

Notes
1.) This online version of the OREGON BULLETIN is provided for convenience of reference and enhanced access. The official, record copy of this publication is contained in the original Administrative Orders and Rulemaking Notices filed with the Secretary of State, Archives Division. Discrepancies, if any, are satisfied in favor of the original versions. Use the OAR Revision Cumulative Index found in the Oregon Bulletin to access a numerical list of rulemaking actions after November 15, 2012.

2.) Copyright 2013 Oregon Secretary of State: Terms and Conditions of Use

Oregon Secretary of State • 136 State Capitol • Salem, OR 97310-0722
Phone: (503) 986-1523 • Fax: (503) 986-1616 • oregon.sos@state.or.us

© 2013 State of Oregon All Rights Reserved​