Loading
The Oregon Administrative Rules contain OARs filed through July 15, 2014
 
QUESTIONS ABOUT THE CONTENT OR MEANING OF THIS AGENCY'S RULES?
CLICK HERE TO ACCESS RULES COORDINATOR CONTACT INFORMATION

OREGON UNIVERSITY SYSTEM, EASTERN OREGON UNIVERSITY

 

DIVISION 60

RESIDENCE HALLS AND EOCENE COURT
(FAMILY HOUSING) POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

579-060-0140

Definitions

(1) Family Housing: All apartments operated by Eastern Oregon University which are rented specifically and only to students who qualify under the rules to rent such apartments, and all grounds and buildings used by tenants and/or Residence Life Staff in the operation and administration of the program.

(2) Family: A legally married couple under Oregon law, or a legally married couple with dependent children/child; or an unmarried person with legal custody of dependent children/child. One adult who lives with an unmarried qualified resident may be listed as a family member. Couples with recognized civil unions or domestic partnerships may also be considered.

(3) Student: A person who has applied for admission and, at the time of possession of the unit, accepted for admission to the University, and enrolls for eight (8) credits or more at the University for three of the four academic sessions each year of occupancy of the unit. A student must also make normal academic progress as described in the Catalog and remain as a student in good standing. Special permission must be obtained from the Director of Residence Life for any student tenant who drops below these academic requirements at any time and wishes to remain in EOU Family Housing.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & OAR 580-011-0015
Hist.: EOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-7-94; EOU 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-05

579-060-0150

Qualifications for Family Housing (Eocene Court)

(1) Family Size: No more than two adults and two children, or one adult and three children may reside in an apartment. All residents must be included on the application form for Family Housing. Spouse and/or dependents listed on the application form must reside with the tenant in order to qualify for Family Housing. An infant under 12 months will not be counted in the total.

(2) Guests may not stay more than two weeks without the written permission from the Director of Residence Life.

(3) Status Change: If the tenant's student or family status changes so that the tenant is no longer eligible for Family Housing, the University will terminate tenancy by providing the tenant with 30 days written notice of the intent to do so.

(4) Proof of Eligibility: The University may require the applicant to provide custody papers or birth certificates, marriage license, and letter of admission. The University reserves the right, upon 24 hours notice to inspect the apartment premises in the accompaniment of the tenant to confirm those residing in the apartment.

(5) Priority: Priority for assigning space in Family Housing is by date of receipt of application and fee from qualified applicants, providing the applicant can move into the apartment within 45 days.

(6) Policies: The Oregon University System Fee Book, the Eastern Oregon University Fee Manual and the Family Housing Handbook of Eastern Oregon University are by reference included in the Oregon Administrative Rules herein.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & OAR 580-011-0015
Hist.: EOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-7-94; EOU 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-05

EOU Residence Halls

579-060-0160

Eligibility

(1) During the regular academic year, room assignments are contingent upon the applicant applying for admission to the University and enrolling for eight (8) credits or more each academic quarter the applicant is in residence. Any exceptions must be approved by the University Residence Life Department.

(2) Priority for room assignments will be first, currently housed residents returning for an additional year provided they sign up during the advertised open enrollment period; and second, new resident applicants based on the date the application fee and contract are received.

(3) Cohabitation is not allowed in residence hall rooms. Cohabitation is defined as having a guest of the opposite sex spend one or more nights in a residence hall room.

(4) International students are required to live in the residence halls during their first year at the University. This requirement will only be waived if authorized through the University waiver appeal process.

(5) EOU maintains a requirement for newly matriculated students to live on campus for a transition period. Campus live-in requirements are published annually in the University catalog and the Residence Life Handbook. Students wishing to be exempt from the requirement must receive approval from the EOU residence waiver appeal board.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & OAR 580-011-0015
Hist.: EOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-7-94; EOU 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-05

579-060-0170

Residence Life Contract

(1) Each applicant for residence hall accommodations shall be required to sign a Residence Life Contract before occupying a room. All rules and regulations in the agreement and the Residence Life Handbook are binding. The Residence Life Contract may be canceled under the terms and conditions outlined in the contract.

(2) If a resident is evicted from, moves from, or otherwise leaves a residence hall before the end of the housing contract period, but does not withdraw from the institution, the resident is assessed a cancellation fee. Cancellation fees and prorated charges for residents who enter or leave the residence halls during an academic quarter shall be in accordance with the conditions outlined in the Residence Life Contract and Oregon University System Fee Manual.

(3) With an approved petition by the Residence Life Department, a resident may be released from their Residence Life Contract without paying the cancellation fee. The main criteria used in approving such a petition are as follows:

(a) Health reasons, verified by a licensed physician and Student Health Services;

(b) Marriage, upon receipt of a copy of the marriage certficate;

(c) Student teaching, practicums and other academic programs requiring the student to live in another community;

(d) If the student moves to the permanent residence of parents or legal guardians;

(e) If a resident, not restricted by being included in the University's Live-in requirement, finds a suitable replacement to take over the contract, i.e., a student who meets the eligibility requirements and who has not previously contacted the Residence Life Office to make arrangements to live in the residence halls;

(f) If a resident is required by the University to live in a residence hall and the University then waives this requirement for the individual.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & OAR 580-011-0015
Hist.: EOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-7-94; EOU 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-05

579-060-0180

Hall Assignment and Room Changes

(1) The Residence Life Office has the responsibility for assigning all residence hall room assignments.

(2) All room changes and hall transfers must be approved through the Residence Life Office and coordinated with the building staff.

(3) The Residence Life Office may reassign residents for administrative or disciplinary reasons with 24 hours notice. In the event that a resident is a potential threat to self or others, he or she may be relocated to a new housing space, or may be required to vacate the premises immediately.

(4) The Residence Life Program may terminate a resident's contract for lack of payment, non-academic attendance or for disciplinary reasons as outlined in the Residence Life Contract, Residence Life Handbook, and Oregon University System Fee Manual, requiring the resident to vacate the premises with 24 hours notice.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & OAR 580-011-0015
Hist.: EOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-7-94; EOU 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-05

579-060-0190

Policies and Rates for Residence Halls and Board Dining

Policies that govern the operation of the residence halls shall be in accordance with the Residence Life Room and Dining Contract, Student Handbook, and the Residence Hall Room and Board Dining Rates. These documents are by reference included in the Oregon Administrative Rules herein.

[Publications: Publications referenced are available from the agency.]

Stat. Auth.: ORS 351.070
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183 & OAR 580-011-0015
Hist.: EOSC 1-1994, f. & cert. ef. 3-7-94; EOU 4-2005, f. & cert. ef. 7-7-05; EOU 3-2012(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 6-8-12 thru 12-1-12; EOU 7-2012, f. & cert. ef. 10-15-12

The official copy of an Oregon Administrative Rule is contained in the Administrative Order filed at the Archives Division, 800 Summer St. NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. Any discrepancies with the published version are satisfied in favor of the Administrative Order. The Oregon Administrative Rules and the Oregon Bulletin are copyrighted by the Oregon Secretary of State. Terms and Conditions of Use

Oregon Secretary of State • 136 State Capitol • Salem, OR 97310-0722
Phone: (503) 986-1523 • Fax: (503) 986-1616 • oregon.sos@state.or.us

© 2013 State of Oregon All Rights Reserved​