Loading
The Oregon Administrative Rules contain OARs filed through March 15, 2014
 
QUESTIONS ABOUT THE CONTENT OR MEANING OF THIS AGENCY'S RULES?
CLICK HERE TO ACCESS RULES COORDINATOR CONTACT INFORMATION

 

DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

 

DIVISION 74

MENTORED YOUTH HUNTER PROGRAM

 

 

635-074-0000

Purpose

The purpose of these rules is to establish the process and requirements for participation in a mentored youth hunter program pursuant to ORS 497.360. The program is intended to introduce youth to hunting by deferring the requirement for hunter education for youth hunters under certain circumstances.

Stat Auth: ORS: 497.360
Stats Implemented: 497.360
Hist.: DFW 69-2007, f. & cert. ef. 8-14-07

635-074-0005

Youth Participation

A youth may participate in the mentored youth hunter program, without first passing an approved hunter education program, provided the youth:

(1) Is between nine and 14 years of age. At age 14, a youth is no longer eligible to participate in the mentored youth hunting program. From age 14 through 17, a youth must pass an approved hunter education program and possess his or her own license and/or tags.

(2) Hunts while accompanied by a supervising hunter who is 21 years of age or older and who has a valid license and tag(s) for the dates, area and species being hunted.

(3) Registers for the mentored youth hunter program in a manner described by the department. Annual registration is required.

(4) Has in possession proof of registration as required by the department.

(5) Reviews and acknowledges understanding of material on safe hunting practices provided by the department.

(6) Follows all regulations regarding hunting in the given wildlife management unit, management area or location.

(7) Remains under the immediate control of the supervising hunter at all times while the youth is in possession of any legal weapon for the hunt.

Stat Auth: ORS: 497.360
Stats Implemented: 497.360
Hist.: DFW 69-2007, f. & cert. ef. 8-14-07

635-074-0010

Supervising Hunter

The supervising hunter shall:

(1) Have a valid hunting license and tag(s) valid for the dates, area and species being hunted.

(2) Maintain immediate control of the mentored youth hunter at all times while the youth is in possession of any legal weapon for the hunt.

(3) Ensure that all Oregon hunting regulations are followed. The supervising hunter shall be responsible and accountable for all actions of the mentored youth hunter while engaged in hunting.

(4) Supervise only one mentored youth hunter at any given time while engaged in hunting.

(5) Review and acknowledge understanding of information on safe hunting practices provided by the department.

Stat Auth: ORS: 497.360
Stats Implemented: 497.360
Hist.: DFW 69-2007, f. & cert. ef. 8-14-07

635-074-0015

Safety

While engaged in mentored youth hunting activities:

(1) The supervising hunter shall maintain immediate control of the mentored youth hunter at all times while the mentored youth hunter is in possession of any legal weapon for the hunt.

(2) The supervising hunter shall not accompany more than one mentored youth hunter at any given time while engaged in hunting.

(3) The supervising hunter and the mentored youth hunter shall not collectively possess more than one weapon legal for the hunt at any given time while engaged in hunting.

Stat Auth: ORS: 497.360
Stats Implemented: 497.360
Hist.: DFW 69-2007, f. & cert. ef. 8-14-07

635-074-0020

Seasons and Bag Limits

(1) Any wildlife harvested by the mentored youth hunter shall be counted towards the supervising hunter's bag limit.

(2) A youth is not eligible to participate in the mentored youth hunting program if the youth possesses their own valid hunting license and/or tag(s) valid for the dates, area and species being hunted.

(3) The mentored youth hunting program is not applicable to designated youth only seasons and hunts.

Stat Auth: ORS: 497.360
Stats Implemented: 497.360
Hist.: DFW 69-2007, f. & cert. ef. 8-14-07

635-074-0025

Mentored Youth Preference Point Program

Youth participating in the mentored youth hunting program will receive one mentored youth preference point for each year the youth registers for the program. The mentored youth preference points will be "banked" and held in the licensing system with no expiration date. To redeem banked points, the mentored youth will be required to fill out a form supplied by the department's License Services Section that clearly states what species the mentored youth wants their mentored youth preference points moved to. Points must be used at one time and may not be split among species. Once Mentored Youth Preference Points are redeemed, they are converted to the Preference Point System and are subject to the Oregon Administrative Rules that govern preference points.

Stat Auth: ORS: 497.360
Stats Implemented: 497.360
Hist.: DFW 69-2007, f. & cert. ef. 8-14-07

The official copy of an Oregon Administrative Rule is contained in the Administrative Order filed at the Archives Division, 800 Summer St. NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. Any discrepancies with the published version are satisfied in favor of the Administrative Order. The Oregon Administrative Rules and the Oregon Bulletin are copyrighted by the Oregon Secretary of State. Terms and Conditions of Use

Oregon Secretary of State • 136 State Capitol • Salem, OR 97310-0722
Phone: (503) 986-1523 • Fax: (503) 986-1616 • oregon.sos@state.or.us

© 2013 State of Oregon All Rights Reserved​