Loading
The Oregon Administrative Rules contain OARs filed through July 15, 2014
 
QUESTIONS ABOUT THE CONTENT OR MEANING OF THIS AGENCY'S RULES?
CLICK HERE TO ACCESS RULES COORDINATOR CONTACT INFORMATION

 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,
DRIVER AND MOTOR VEHICLE SERVICES DIVISION

 

DIVISION 34

VEHICLE PERMITS

735-034-0000

Definitions of Trip Permit Agents

As used in OAR 735-034-0000 to 735-034-0010 and any agreement entered into under OAR 735-034-0005:

(1) A “trip permit agent” or “agent” is a person authorized by Oregon law, administrative rule or designated by the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division of the Department of Transportation (DMV) to issue trip permits on behalf of DMV.

(2) “Arrangements,” as used in ORS 803.600(5), means the process for designating trip permit agents pursuant to OAR 735-034-0005.

(3) A “General Trip Permit Agent” is an agent authorized to issue light vehicle trip permits, recreational vehicle trip permits, registration weight trip permits, registered vehicle trip permits, and heavy motor vehicle and heavy trailer trip permits.

(4) A “Heavy Vehicle Trip Permit Agent” is an agent authorized to issue heavy vehicle trip permits for their own vehicles or vehicles under their control.

(5) A “Restricted Trip Permit Agent” is an out-of-state dealer authorized as an agent to issue light vehicle trip permits to customers whose vehicles will be titled and registered in Oregon.

(6) “Person” means an individual, corporation, business trust, estate, trust, partnership, limited liability company, association, joint venture, public corporation or any other legal or commercial entity.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 803.600 - 803.650 & 806.080
Stats. Implemented: ORS 803.600, 803.602, 803.605, 803.640
Hist.: MV 19-1986, f. & ef. 12-1-86; Administrative Renumbering 3-1988, Renumbered from 735-110-0050; MV 13-1991, f. 9-18-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; DMV 9-1998, f. & cert. ef. 8-20-98; DMV 14-2001, f. & cert. ef. 8-13-01; DMV 3-2011, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-11

735-034-0005

Requirements for Designation as a Trip Permit Agent

(1) DMV may designate a person or business as a vehicle trip permit agent to issue vehicle trip permits to the public on behalf of DMV.

(2) A person wishing to be designated as a vehicle trip permit agent must enter into a vehicle trip permit agent agreement with DMV.

(3) A designated trip permit agent, vehicle dealer, towing business, or other person authorized by Oregon law to issue trip permits is subject to all Oregon statutes and DMV rules relevant to the issuance and sale of trip permits.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, 803.600, 803.645, 806.080
Stats. Implemented: ORS 803.600, 803.602, 803.605, 803.640
Hist.: DMV 14-2001, f. & cert. ef. 8-13-01; DMV 3-2011, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-11

735-034-0010

Procedures for Issuance of Trip Permits

(1) This rule describes the procedures and requirements for vehicle trip permits issued under the authority of ORS 803.600. Vehicle trip permits may be issued by:

(a) A trip permit agent pursuant to ORS 803.600 and OAR 735-034-0005;

(b) A vehicle dealer pursuant to ORS 802.031 and OAR 735-150-0040, including a vehicle dealer who issues 10-day trip permits as described under ORS 803.600; or

(c) A towing business that issues 10-day trip permits as described under ORS 803.600.

(2) A person described under section (1) of this rule must comply with the following requirements for the issuance of trip permits:

(a) Unless otherwise authorized in writing by DMV, trip permits must be purchased from DMV prior to issuance.

(b) Each trip permit issued must be legibly completed with the following information:

(A) The name and address of the vehicle's registered owner or the person applying for the trip permit. The name and address is recorded on the issuer's copy and DMV's copy of the permit;

(B) The driver license number of the vehicle's registered owner or the person applying for the trip permit, if available. Nothing may be written on the purchaser's (window) copy of the permit to identify the person to whom the permit was issued;

(C) A complete vehicle description, including the year, make, body style and vehicle identification number (VIN);

(D) The written signature of the person who issues the permit. This must include at least the person's full first and last name;

(E) The identification number of the trip permit agent, if one has been assigned by DMV, or the certificate number of the dealer or towing business;

(F) The effective date and expiration date of the permit;

(G) For a registration weight trip permit, the registration weight of the vehicle.

(c) For a light vehicle trip permit, the person who issues the permit must require the applicant to sign a certification stating:

(A) The insurance company name and policy number; and

(B) The motor vehicle is covered by an insurance policy that meets the requirements of ORS 806.080, and that the vehicle will continue to be covered as long as the permit is valid.

(d) A vehicle dealer or towing business that issues a 10-day trip permit:

(A) Must ensure all Oregon registration stickers have been removed in accordance with 803.565;

(B) May not issue more than two permits for the same motor vehicle; and

(C) Must require the person applying for the permit to provide the insurance company name and policy number on the permit, and sign the certification on the permit stating that the motor vehicle is covered by an insurance policy that meets the requirements of ORS 806.080 and will continue to be covered as long as the permit is valid.

(e) For a recreational vehicle trip permit, the person who issues the permit must require the applicant to:

(A) Provide proof of ownership as described in OAR 735-034-0050;

(B) Sign a certification stating that the applicant has not been issued recreational vehicle trip permits that, when included with the permit being applied for, would grant more than 10 days vehicle operation for the preceding 12 months;

(C) Provide the insurance company name and policy number if the trip permit is for a motor home; and

(D) Sign the certificate on the permit, stating that the recreational vehicle is covered by an insurance policy that meets the requirements of ORS 806.080 and will continue to be covered as long as the permit is valid if the trip permit is for a motor home.

(f) A person authorized to issue a trip permit under section (1) of this rule:

(A) Must send DMV's copy of the permit to DMV within seven (7) days of the date a permit is issued; and

(B) May not loan, transfer or assign a trip permit to any other person.

(3) Any alteration of the permit information will automatically void the permit:

(a) When a trip permit is voided, the trip permit agent, vehicle dealer, or towing business must return the vehicle (purchaser's) copy and DMV's copy to DMV within seven (7) days of the date it was voided, along with an explanation of why the permit was voided. If either copy of the voided permit is unavailable for submission to DMV, the explanation must state the reason; and

(b) If DMV is satisfied that a prepaid permit was not altered or used for the operation of a vehicle, DMV will refund the prepaid permit fee to the trip permit agent, vehicle dealer or towing business that purchased the permits from DMV.

(4) Upon receipt of a written request from a trip permit agent, vehicle dealer or towing business subject to this rule, DMV will refund the fee amount for each unissued prepaid permit.

(5) Upon DMV's written request, a trip permit agent, vehicle dealer or towing business subject to this rule must immediately cease issuing permits and immediately return all unused trip permits to DMV. DMV will issue a refund to the trip permit agent, vehicle dealer or towing business for any unused prepaid permits returned to DMV.

(6) DMV may revoke the authority of a trip permit agent, vehicle dealer or towing business to issue trip permits:

(a) For failure to comply with any provision of this rule;

(b) If DMV determines the issuance of permits is not in the interest of the public; or

(c) A change in state or federal law or regulation prohibits the issuance of trip permits as described under this rule or OAR Chapter 735, Division 034.

(7) The failure of a trip permit agent, vehicle dealer or towing business to comply with the provisions of this rule may result in the revocation of the authority to issue trip permits.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, 803.600
Stats. Implemented: ORS 803.565, 803.600, 803.602, 803.645, 806.080
Hist.: MV 19-1986, f. & ef. 12-1-86; Administrative Renumbering 3-1988, Renumbered from 735-110-0060; MV 2-1989, f. & cert. ef. 1-3-89; MV 13-1991, f. 9-18-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; DMV 9-1998, f. & cert. ef. 8-20-98; DMV 14-2001, f. & cert. ef. 8-13-01; DMV 28-2001(Temp), f. 12-14-01 cert. ef. 1-1-02 thru 6-29-02; DMV 8-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-02; DMV 28-2003(Temp), f. 12-15-03 cert. ef. 1-1-04 thru 6-28-04; DMV 9-2004, f. & cert. ef. 5-24-04; DMV 7-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-16-05; DMV 3-2011, f. & cert. ef. 3-16-11

735-034-0020

When Registered Vehicle Trip Permit May Not be Purchased

(1) Registered Vehicle Trip Permits may not be purchased in those situations where:

(a) The vehicle is currently registered; and

(b) The registration is of a type where the owner is required to certify (under penalty) that the vehicle will not be used for purposes not allowed under the registration type.

(2) Examples of those situations where Registered Vehicle Trip Permits may not be purchased include:

(a) Vehicles currently registered under farm registration under ORS 805.300; and

(b) Vehicles currently registered under proportional farm registration under ORS 805.400.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 802.010, 803.600 - 803.645 & 805.300 - 805.400
Stats. Implemented: ORS 803.600
Hist.: MV 19-1986, f. & ef. 12-1-86; Administrative Renumbering 3-1988, Renumbered from 735-110-0070

735-034-0040

Display of Trip Permits

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this rule, trip permits for self-propelled vehicles shall be placed on the driver's side of the vehicle in the lower corner of the rear window.

(2) Trip permits may be placed in areas other than as provided in section (1) of this rule in situations where placement in the rear window is not possible or is impractical, including but not limited to situations where:

(a) The vehicle is not equipped with a rear window;

(b) The permit would not be visible or legible from outside the vehicle if it were placed in the rear window;

(c) The vehicle is a motorcycle, snowmobile, or Class 1 all-terrain vehicle;

(d) The permit was issued by teletype or transceiver;

(e) The vehicle has louvers placed over the rear window which are attached to the vehicle; or

(f) The vehicle is a pickup truck with a camper attached.

(3) When a trip permit is not required to be placed in the rear window as provided in section (2) of this rule, it shall be placed in the lower right-hand corner of the rear, side window on the driver's side of the vehicle if the vehicle is equipped with one. If the vehicle does not have a rear side window on the driver's side of the vehicle, the permit shall be placed as follows:

(a) In the rear window of a camper, canopy or similar equipment when the permit is issued to the pickup carrying such equipment;

(b) On the dashboard on the driver's side of the vehicle visible through the windshield; or

(c) In the vehicle in a manner readily accessible for inspection upon request, when the permit is issued by teletype or transceiver, or where placement in any of the other allowed locations is not possible or practical.

(4) Trip permits for non-self propelled vehicles shall be carried in either the transporting vehicle or the vehicle which is being towed. In either case the permit shall be carried in a manner that makes it readily available for inspection upon request.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 802.010, 803.030, 803.600 - 803.645 & Ch. 166, OL 1987
Stats. Implemented: ORS 803.600
Hist.: MV 19-1986, f. & ef. 12-1-86; MV 13-1987, f. & ef. 9-16-87; Administrative Renumbering 3-1988, Renumbered from 735-110-0090

735-034-0050

Issuing Trip Permits

(1) The following procedures and requirements apply to the issuance of vehicle trip permits under ORS 803.600.

(2) Trip permits are issued and are valid for a period of consecutive days based on permit type.

(3) Except as described in subsection (e) of this section, a registration weight trip permit is required for a vehicle under the following circumstances:

(a) The vehicle is registered in Oregon by loaded weight and the weight exceeds the registration weight of the vehicle declared under ORS 803.435;

(b) The vehicle is registered in Oregon by combined weight, and the combined weight exceeds the registration weight declared under ORS 803.435; or

(c) The vehicle is a commercial vehicle registered by combined weight under ORS 826.009, 826.011 or 826.031, and the weight exceeds the registration weight declared under ORS 826.015.

(d) If the vehicle is registered by combined weight under subsection (b) or (c) of this section, a registration weight trip permit is only issued to the motor vehicle used to tow a trailer or load.

(e) Subsection (b) of this section does not apply to a vehicle registered by combined weight, if the vehicle is towing a person's own commercial fishing boat and the combined weight of the vehicle, boat and trailer is 15,000 pounds or less.

(4) A heavy motor vehicle trip permit or heavy trailer trip permit may only be issued to vehicles that are not registered in Oregon. Either permit authorizes the operation of a single, unregistered vehicle. For example, if a truck/trailer combination is not registered in Oregon, and is not operating under the authority of an interstate reciprocity agreement, then both the truck and the trailer must obtain a permit. If, however, one of the two vehicles is registered, for example, the trailer, then only the truck is required to have a permit.

(5) An applicant for a recreational vehicle trip permit must:

(a) Certify that during the preceding 12-month period they have not been issued recreational vehicle trip permits that when included with the permit being applied for would grant more than 10 days operation for the vehicle listed on the permit;

(b) Provide proof satisfactory to DMV that the applicant is the owner of the camper, travel trailer or motor home listed on the permit application. Proof DMV may consider includes a valid certificate of title, a bill of sale or other ownership document as described in OAR 735-022-0000; and

(c) If the permit is for a motor home, provide the name and policy number of the current insurance carrier and certify that the motor home is covered, and will continue to be covered by insurance as required by ORS 806.080 for as long as the permit is valid.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 184.616, 184.619, 802.010, 803.600, 803.625, 803.635, 803.640, 803.655, Ch. 50, OL 2007
Stats. Implemented: ORS 801.420, 803.430, 803.600, 803.625, 803.635, 803.640, 803.655, 803.665, 806.080, 810.490, Ch. 50, OL 2007
Hist.: MV 52-1989, f. & cert. ef. 12-1-89; MV 13-1991, f. 9-18-91, cert. ef. 9-29-91; DMV 9-1998, f. & cert. ef. 8-20-98; DMV 8-2002, f. & cert. ef. 4-12-02; DMV 8-2007(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 5-24-07 thru 11-18-07; DMV 10-2007, f. & cert. ef. 10-17-07

The official copy of an Oregon Administrative Rule is contained in the Administrative Order filed at the Archives Division, 800 Summer St. NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. Any discrepancies with the published version are satisfied in favor of the Administrative Order. The Oregon Administrative Rules and the Oregon Bulletin are copyrighted by the Oregon Secretary of State. Terms and Conditions of Use

Oregon Secretary of State • 136 State Capitol • Salem, OR 97310-0722
Phone: (503) 986-1523 • Fax: (503) 986-1616 • oregon.sos@state.or.us

© 2013 State of Oregon All Rights Reserved​