Find Oregon icon; Meet Oregon icon; Experience Oregon icon; Play Oregon icon Almanac Notable Oregonians Cultural exhibits FunStuff games and more

How do I...?


Facebook and e-mail icons Facebook Contact us

Home > Local > Counties > Union County

Union County

An abandoned shack near Union. (Oregon State Archives Photo No. uniD0002a)

An abandoned shack near Union. (Oregon State Archives Photo No. uniD0002a)

Map index | Next county


County Seat: Union County Commissioners, 1106 K Ave., La Grande 97850
Phone: 541-963-1001 (General); 541-962-9500, ext. 232 (Court Administrator)
Fax: 541-963-1079


Population (2013): 26,325
Established: Oct. 14, 1864
Elev. at La Grande: 2,788'
Area: 2,038 sq. mi.
Average Temp.: January 30.9° July 70.4°
Assessed Value: $1,723,271,972
Real Market Value: $2,401,698,730
Annual Precipitation: 18.79"
Economy: Agriculture, forest products, education and government


Union County map

Related resources
Historical Records Inventory
Scenic Image
"County QuickFacts" (from U.S. Census Bureau)
County Seat Map (from Yahoo! Maps)
County Map (from ODOT)


Incorporated cities
Cove | Elgin | Imbler | Island City | La Grande | North Powder | Summerville | Union


Points of interest
Meacham and Tollgate winter sports areas, Grande Ronde Valley, Eastern Oregon University (La Grande)


History and general information
Union County was created in 1864 and named for the town of Union, which had been established two years before and named by its founders for patriotic reasons during the Civil War. The county comprised a part of the northern portion of Baker County and, in 1899, Union County gave up its eastern portion to Wallowa County.

The Grande Ronde Valley in Union County is nearly table flat and is covered with the rich silt of an old lake bed. Highly diversified, with a 160-day growing season and an annual rainfall of twenty inches, the valley boasts of never having had a general crop failure. The county’s 1,092 farms average 473 acres a unit.

Union County’s front door opens to the rugged Wallowa Mountains. Its back door faces the Blue Mountains, which attract hikers, skiers and hunters.


County officials
Commissioners—Mark Davidson 2017, Jack Howard 2019, Steve McClure 2019; Dist. Atty. Kelsie McDaniel 2019; Assess. Linda Hill 2017; Clerk Robin Church 2017; Sheriff Boyd Rasmussen 2017; Surv. Rick Robinson 2017; Treas. Donna Marshall 2017; Co. Admin. and Chief Info. Officer Shelley Burgess


Map index | Next county